PLE Diagram

PLE The communities represented in my PLE Diagram above include:

  1. Moodle
  2. Boise State EDTECH
  3. Facebook
  4. Instagram
  5. WordPress
  6. Flickr
  7. Twitter
  8. LinkedIn
  9. Google+
  10. Youtube

When I think about my PLE I see it as something that is constantly growing and will continue grow for the rest of my life. I embraced the theme of professional growth while creating my Diagram and so I thought the idea to represent it through the shape of a tree. I would note that my PLE is not just a facet of my professional growth or tool for learning however, it is also an outlet for sharing my ideas and facilitating social interactions.

I put the Moodle and Boistate EDTECh logos at the bottom of my tree because I see them as the roots of my constantly developing PLE. Before starting the EDTECH program and diving into my courses on Moodle I had never even heard of a PLE before. I have Instagram in the trunk. Even though I never began using it with the intention of professional learning, it actually was the first community where I experienced the benefit of a PLE first hand. I consider it as sort of a light bulb moment for me and a bridge to adding other communities to my PLE.

Google+ and YouTube make up the heart or fruit of the tree (I kind of used them as apples) because they are where I share the majority of learning outcomes with the world. The other communities make up the sky or air because I see them as what feeds my knowledge and inspires me.

In looking at the PLE Diagrams of my classmates I noticed many commonly shared communities such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Google+. Another common thing I noticed was that several people noted the fact they use these communities not only as learning tools for school and work but also for social interaction.  A third common thread I noticed and something interesting thing to me was the real world environment’s people used as frames for their PLE’s. For example Jessie Rouse drew hers within the frame of an Ipad, Nona Barker used the shape of a human body in an analogous way to express her vision. Katelyn miller used her own picture as the center of a web of communities. Jodi stevens use of a bee/honeycomb theme was a unique way to frame the PLE concept and a perfect analogy to an interconnected community for learning.

Rebecca Olien raised the importance of connecting social networking to real world experiences, which I also tried to do. I loved Greg Andrade’s choice of having all his communities tie back into the computer mouse. It was understated but powerful to think that without the computer mouse being developed many years ago these communities wouldn’t likely exist in their current form, if at all.

This entry was posted in EDTCH 543. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

