Social Network Learning – Blog Post #1

What are you initial reactions about joining these social networks for use in this course?

I am excited to see how all these different social networks can be used to promote and enhance learning. To be honest I am feeling slightly nervous as I have no experience in social networking other than some occasional Facebook use at a personal level and creating a LinkedIn account that I have hardly ever touched.

What is your experience in using social media for your own professional development?

In terms of professional development using social media I have basically no experience. As previously mentioned I do have a LinkedIn account but I don’t use it. My profile on there is pretty outdated at this point and has little to no detail attached to it that would truly help me as far as professional growth or networking opportunities. I did actually have a recruiter from UCLA message me through it about job opportunities a month ago so that was interesting to see how people are really using it.

What is your experience in using social media as an instructional strategy in your learning environment?

My department has a Facebook and Twitter that we use to communicate with students however only my Director has access to post or use it in any way. Also because I work for a public university anything posted social media wise is extremely vetted by PR/Communications people because of the desire to avoid any possible problems. This year we have already experienced the downsides of communicating on Facebook with students as it opened the door for public criticism and slander issues.

What are your expectations for this course?

I would really like to just have a better functional knowledge of Facebook, Twitter, Diigo, etc. so that I don’t feel so lost. It would be great to also have a better understanding of pedagogy in terms of using these tools effectively in a learning environment. Also learning the do’s and don’ts or shall I say etiquette of these tools would be nice.

This entry was posted in EDTCH 543. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

