Week 12 Reflection

Reading about space this week I came to the realization that I was already using it as a design tool in previous assignments without really knowing it. I think this is because a lot of what I think of as good advertising and website design is the result of using white space correctly. I like symmetry and I also don’t like empty spaces that stand out, which I now know is called trapped space. Because the book reading was short this week I ended up doing some follow up reading online. Through that follow up research I came across a great web article on the use of white space in design at the following site, http://webdesignledger.com/tips/whitespace-the-underutilized-design-element. Reading this article and seeing its recognition of how Apple has great use of white space in their design was interesting. I have always loved their design work and now I know a fundamental reason behind that feeling.

 

This entry was posted in EDTECH 506. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

