Week 5 Reflection

When I look back at the last 4 weeks there has been a lot of content to take in, but I already see myself building a strong foundation for creating great instructional graphics. For last weeks typography assignment I definitely had the concept of universal design in mind when creating my work, so I really focused on making my images something that anyone could understand. I realized after completing the assignment that using words to express meaning falls into the interpretive visuals category covered in chapter 1. It was nice to see a concept from early in the textbook transferring to actual application in the “From Type to Topography” content of Chapter 8.

Having finished chapter 3 I didn’t find it difficult to understand but it was truly a lot of information to take in at once. I know it is a chapter I will continue to reference consistently going forward. Transferring learning theory and research into my writing is something I am experienced in and comfortable with. Applying theory and research into creating instructional graphics however is something completely new to me. I am excited to attempt to design graphics with both memory and cognitive functions in mind as we move forward. I know it will be a challenge, but I think chapter 3 offers a strong foundation for overcoming whats  ahead.

Reference:

Lohr, L. L. (2008). Creating Graphics for Learning and Performance. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, Inc.

This entry was posted in EDTECH 506. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

